Sarvodaya

A Blog About Wherever My Mind Takes Me.


The Hardest Part About Dying…

…isn’t that the party is over, but that it will continue without you long after you’ve been abruptly kicked out.

The somewhat lighthearted party analogy aside, I think that that truly is one of the greatest tragedies of death: the world, and all the beauty and experience it has to offer, will leave you behind. It will grow and change in ways that will forever be inconceivable. Think of the millions of people who ever lived, and how different the world now is from when they were alive. Imagine what it’ll be like centuries after I expire (if it’s still around).

Who knows what I’ll miss out on once I die. It kind of pains me to imagine the possibilities that may eventually come to fruition, if only I’d lived to see them. Now that I think about it, I realize that, in a strange way, our own death means the end of the world as we know it. Without consciousness, the world effectively ceases to exist, just as it does when we sleep (minus dreaming of course).

I’m not quite sure what spurred on this train of thought, though it’s nothing new. This seems like an odd topic to reflect on right before heading to a party, so I’ll probably be revisiting it later. In any case, please, share your own thoughts on this matter, and my apologies to anyone who finds all this to be despressing.



5 responses to “The Hardest Part About Dying…”

  1. Drive safely and look both ways.
    P.S. This must be why I don’t sleep at night.

    1. Haha, always. I’m too cautious a driver as far as I’m told (which suits me just fine). It’s why I don’t sleep either 😛 Hope I didn’t add to that!

  2. sheafferhistorian Avatar
    sheafferhistorian

    I won’t fly either….going out as a charred remain is not what I have in mind.

  3. This is exactly why I hope to live long enough to see a jet pack in every garage.

    1. Haha, you’re telling me. I want to live long enough to see us traveling space like it’s all good 😛

Leave a comment