One Hundred Voices of Doubt

Neurosurgeon Jonathan T. Pararajasingham has undertaken an interesting project: compiling the views of 100 prominent intellectuals on the subject of religion and why they don’t believe in a god or afterlife. Some explanations are particularly unique (to me at least), while many share a lot of the same premises, not that it’s always a bad thing. The majority of these people are scientists or academics, many of whom are Nobel Laureates or otherwise well-renowned in their field.

Though I’ve posted the first half before, I figured I’d share both videos in their entirety now that the second part is available. As I’ve written before, it never hurts to have a frank discussion about this sort of topic, provided that it’s sincere, open-minded, and civil. I’ve listened to my fair share of testimonies of faith, so I think it’s both refreshing and essential to hear the other side give its account in much the same vein. Even if you disagree, there’s no harm in keeping an open mind.
 
The list of the participants, in order of appearance, is posted below each video on YouTube. I hope you find their point of view illuminating, whether you agree with them or not (I apologize for the links not working the first time: thanks to an astute reader, I identified the problem).
Part 1:

Part 2:

My intention in sharing these videos – and in much of my writing on this blog – is to show people that nonbelievers aren’t just nihilistic and curmudgeonly rebels. Many of us aren’t atheists out of spite, arrogance, or a desire to be counter-culture. We have deeper reasons for our religious doubts, and even if you don’t agree with said reasons, you should at least try to acknowledge their sincerity. For the record, I make it a point to do the same for my theistic counterparts, and encourage everyone to just hear each other out, at the very least.
2 comments on “One Hundred Voices of Doubt

Leave a Reply

